Thematic Day 2017

 Soil Resources Mapping: past, present and future

 Royal Academy, Brussels, 05/12/2017

Check out the photos of the Thematic day and download the book of abstracts.

Programme

Theme 1: The Soil Map of Belgium, past, present and future

Keynote 1 : 9:00 – 9:30  Soil Mapping, Soil Map Legend, Soil Classification – (Old) Belgian Stories.
Roger Langohr (Roger.langohr@skynet.be)

9 :30 – 9 :50 The secrets of the sand: how the soil map of the Campine opens new avenues for understanding land-use patterns. Karen Vancampenhout (Karen.vancampenhout@kuleuven.be)

9:50 – 10:10 Where do we stand? Where shall we go? Past and future of the soil map of Belgium Stefaan Dondeyne (stefaan.dondeyne@kuleuven.be)


 10 :30 – 11 :00 Coffee break + Poster session


Theme 2: Use of soil maps and underlying databases

11:00 – 11:20 Soil map of Belgium: from hardcopy to illustrated web access
Katrien Oorts (katrien.oorts@vlaanderen.be)

11:20 – 11:40 Predicting allergenic tree species distributions from the Belgian soil map and a grid-based databank of vascular plants
Michiel Stas, Sander Heylen, Raf Aerts, Andy Delcloo, Nicolas Dendoncker, Rafiq Hamdi , Marijke Hendricks, Catherine Linard, Tim Nawrot, An Van Nieuwenhuyse, Jean-Marie Aerts, Ben Somers, Jos Van Orshoven (michiel.stas@kuleuven.be)

11:40 – 12:00 Geochemical  quality of public parks and playgrounds in Brussels Valérie Cappuyns and Louise Schepens (Valerie.Cappuyns@kuleuven.be)

12:00 – 12:20 Soil Organic Carbon mapping in croplands by airborne APEX images using LUCAS topsoil database Fabio Castaldi, Bas van Wesemael, Sabine Chabrillat (bas.vanwesemael@uclouvain.be)


12 :20 – 14 :00 Lunch Break – Board meeting of SSSB + Poster session


Theme 3: From legacy maps to useful updated GIS layers

Keynote 2: 14:00 – 14:30 Past soil survey experiences as a source of inspiration for future soil research. Johan Bouma johan.bouma@planet.nl

14:30 – 14:50 Drainage class maps: update needs and legacy value
Peter Finke, Geert Baert, Johan Van de wauw, Martine Swerts (Peter.Finke@UGent.be)

14:50 – 15:10 Potential of using LiDAR-data for updating the drainage class of the soil map of Flanders
Roelens, J.; Dondeyne, S.; Van Orshoven, J.; Diels, J. (jennifer.roelens@kuleuven.be)

15:10 – 15:30 The potential of electromagnetic induction surveying for detailed soil mapping
Timothy Saey, Marc Van Meirvenne (Timothy.Saey@ugent.be)


 15:30 – 16:00 Coffee Break + Poster session


Theme 4: Soil mapping in global perspective

16:00 – 16:20 “The impact of soil mapping on soil moisture and radiance modeling”
Bechtold, M., De Lannoy, G.J.M., Koster, R.D., Reichle, R.H., Mahanama, S.P., Liu, Q. (michel.bechtold@kuleuven.be)

16:20 – 16:40 A new packaging for the Digital Soil Map of Wallonia?
Xavier Legrain (xavier.legrain@ulg.ac.be)

16:40 – 17:00 The Belgian contribution to the Global Soil Organic Carbon Stock map
Caroline Chartin, Suzanna Lettens, Pieter Verschelde, Sabine Buyle, Katrien Oorts, Patrick Engels, Bruno De Vos, Bas van Wesemael (bas.vanwesemael@uclouvain.be)


17:00 Closing remarks

Poster contributions

Pitch presentations

Bobe: https://www.slideshare.net/secret/ptq9twMuno1BxT
Van devijver: https://www.slideshare.net/secret/3ojoVa3E9BpKQ1
Dumont: https://www.slideshare.net/secret/ETGwutjRtuCZc8